Last Lesson

Staring up at the moon and starry sky
More familiar than my old room
than my grandparent’s house or the oldest friend
More familiar than the most reoccurring dream
my favorite song, cherished old toy
More familiar than my family crest
the most beloved of faces, most sacred locale
stillest memory, all gone now
The stars leave ribbon traces, silver light
across shadows of time
like the streaks through my hair
on this wild windy plight
like the lines on my skin
ancient trailways in the sky
I have stood like this for decades, eras, eons uncountable
Staring at the moon and stars
surrounded by all their mystery
Marveling at the planets
beneath their glowing constancy
And though the unspeakable has occurred
nothing seem to have changed
my broken epics seem so frail
never changing either
Walking back up the path
footsteps echoing through the cold night
I begin to understand now all that really matters
is whether or not we can find our way to see the lesson of love

About Unsungpoet

Life-long poet, numerologist, author of other previously unpublished works :)
This entry was posted in Photos, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Last Lesson

  1. Ben Naga says:

    We shall keep looking as long as it takes.

  2. Commenting via my phone during my work night. I now in bed trying to sleep after a difficult shift here. Alert awake and also looking up out the window to a stary sky. And thinking much the same thoughts. About lessons in love. That’s really what we all came to learN how to do — LOVE.
    Sue x0x brilliant words unsung. And you have an award awaiting even if I forgot to include your url. Good to see you writing xxx

    • Unsungpoet says:

      Really good to hear from you…we are so often on the same wavelength I’m convinced! I know all about those wide awake nights and only seem to sleep a few hours at a time these days…hope you were able to get some rest…it’s a good thing we never get tired of gazing into the heavens…something about the cosmos that energizes us despite being beat from lack of sleep! Sending love your way too, hope all is well in your corner of the world, thanks for the nice compliment and for taking the time. I’m constantly writing with pen & paper or my word processor but only get online once in a while…until next time…

  3. Lindy Lee says:

    Praises & accolades to your impressive poetic writing, my dear UnsungPoet…

  4. Lindy Lee says:

    I HAVE TO TELL YOU, UNSUNG POET, YOU ARE NOT UNSUNG WITH ME. I GRADE ANY ARTWORK BY WHETHER OR NOT I KEEP IT HANDY, SO I CAN RE-VIEW IT, OR RE-LISTEN TO IT, OR RE-READ IT. YOUR LAST LESSON RESONATES CORE-DEEP IN THE SOUL & HITS ON THE ONLY THING IN LIFE OF VALUE OR IMPORTANCE, LOVE. I COMMEND YOU FOR THIS PIECE OF WRITING. IM IN ALL CAPS HERE, YES, SHOUTING YOUR LAST LESSON TO THE ROOFTOPS…

    From: unsungpoet Reply-To: unsungpoet Date: Sat, 30 Nov 2013 23:58:08 +0000 To: Subject: [New post] Last Lesson

    Unsungpoet posted: ” Staring up at the moon and starry sky More familiar than my old room than my grandparent’s house or the oldest friend More familiar than the most reoccurring dream my favorite song, cherished old toy More f”

Leave a comment