In The City

Every time I go into the city
I become every life I see
Fall in & out of love about
five hundred thousand times
I want to live in every old house
Roam every twisting wooden stairway
Climb every rooftop
Investigate every basement floor
I pass people on the street
& feel their intentions
I want to follow them home
& find out their story
See what their world is about
Every old landmark or hillside has stories
Secret chapters scribed by the passing of time
& I read them all
Sculptures stand hidden in the park
For countless years their statements lay mute
I interview the statues
Awaken the spirits
Release the information
I am every ghost in each & every building
I feel every living being in the marrow of my bones

About Unsungpoet

Life-long poet, numerologist, author of other previously unpublished works :)
This entry was posted in Photos, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to In The City

  1. Beverly Kalinin says:

    What a great way to share the feeling of being in the city. Anyone who has experienced it little or loved it a lot is right there with you,feeling the joy and exuberance you get from that place.

  2. willowdot21 says:

    Wonderful poem, it shouts ” So much to do so much to see” xxxx

Leave a Reply

