Song of Athens

Glowing vibration of church bells
Loud buzzing of a workman’s tool
Rat tat tat of hand helds
Wings flapping
Distant traffic thunder
Street hammer pounding
Musical chanting
Engines missing
Birds singing
Whistles of Greek boys
Horns and people shouting
Voice of goddess warrior
calling you in dreams

About Unsungpoet

Life-long poet, numerologist, author of other previously unpublished works :)
This entry was posted in Photos, Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Song of Athens

  1. Beverly Kalinin says:

    Nice, Judi. You were there. What a picture. What memories.

    • Unsungpoet says:

      Thanks! I was out on that balcony overlooking old town and I just closed my eyes and listened & wanted to write down every sound I heard at that one moment…it was like music

  2. willowdot21 says:

    beautiful sound poem! I love it .

  3. Hi! We have not spoken for a while but I’d like to tell you that your writing is getting better. I am able to hear the sounds you describe and I think this is a very well written piece.

    • Unsungpoet says:

      Well hello there…thanks for the nice compliment! The poem is actually about 7 or 8 years old. I appreciate you taking the time to read & let me know what you think! I was thinking of you recently, hope all is well with you young lady…I have not visited your blog for awhile, but hoping you are still writing, you have a very unique talent and superb imagination!

Leave a Reply

