Untitled #111

This poem originally appeared circa 2000 in “12 Poems At The Dawn Of A Brand New Day”, one of my 9 self-published poetry chapbooks.  It was formerly titled #12:

I said goodbye to myself
quite some time ago
without even really knowing
without even realizing I had gone
I stood at the threshold
and said my farewells
to the pain I coddled and pampered
like a child, my lifeline
my dark, warm hearth
I tasted the dirt that had buried me
and savored it like the last crumb of bread
then laid the ancient child to rest
I said goodbye to myself
I walked through the door
and said hello

About Unsungpoet

Life-long poet, numerologist, author of other previously unpublished works :)
This entry was posted in Photos, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Untitled #111

  1. This is such an indepth view of self. As we learn to let go of pain as we step through the door of our tomorrows
    Love and Hello again Unsung 🙂
    Excellent poem I’m glad you reposted again.
    Sue xx

    • Unsungpoet says:

      I was thinking about you, so wonderful to hear from you, thanks so much for the comment…I hope all is well in your corner of the world!!

      • Yes all is fine my friend, I have just been extra busy with our Allotment garden and family etc as the Summer at last arrived here, well for a week at least 🙂
        Life can get in the way at times LOL… but we should never stop Living 😀 .. I hope too you are feeling fine Also.. ?
        Sending you a Cosmic Hug across the airwaves (( Hug ))
        Sue xxx

  2. Ben Naga says:

    There are few truly significant thresholds in one’s life, so it is good to acknowledge them properly.

Leave a Reply

