On The Road With My Angel


Traveling upon the roads of this earth
the soul petroglyphs, tracings of my years
and those of so many whose paths intertwine
Through ancient mudflats and tired hills
remnants of cherished cities, broken streets
neighborhoods rich in passionate silent history
awakened by wild wind gusts and ghosts of tomorrow
Traveling past old-fashioned backyards where
bouquets of forgotten childhoods grow and thrive
Through territory so hallowed it just screams through your senses
clutches your sensibility and swallows your heart
Traveling upon these roads
I am taken to places that maps just don’t cover
to places where all soul memories do linger
Journeying through the dimensions
my everyday travels carry me into amazing spheres
Star clusters fill my days with their cosmic magic
carrying me along with a celestial entourage of
curious spirits, rambling angels, personal saints
And now my leading angel is you
Your love always seemed to guide me through
You showed me what love is when I was so young
with an acceptance so rare and pure
and even the many years we were parted you held on
as deep and subconscious as it may have been
your stronghold on the love and passion
was enough to enrich my own days, sensing that love-ray
feeling as though you were always near and
following me like a renegade guide, the ornery, feistiest of angels
though you were alive, living your own story
blazing a unique path in your very own little corner of the world
It’s like you were always a part of me
existing from the inside-out of me
and even the memory of your rugged sweetness
saved me more times than I can remember
And now that you are really really gone
now that I found you again and watched your body die
You are completely with me
alive in the heart of my mind
And as I continue along on these roads alone
through all the landmarks of our legacy
You lead the parade of lovely souls who travel with me
You are my leading angel
You feel what I feel, observe what I see
You guide me in love
and grace me with perfect understanding

About Unsungpoet

Life-long poet, numerologist, author of other previously unpublished works :)
This entry was posted in Photos, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to On The Road With My Angel

  1. Unsung! words I cannot give, for my tears have taken over… This is so touching and empowering, I see Love in every word.. so Deep!.. My heart feels for you and I totally understand how when one is no longer with us.. they are closer than ever. Love to you my friend ~Sue xx

    • Unsungpoet says:

      Thank you Sue for your incredible kindness and empathy…It means so much to me when you read my poems and respond with your own deep and very apt expressions!

  2. willowdot21 says:

    I do not know what to say.

  3. Malou says:

    Lovely words!

  4. Ben Naga says:

    I can imagine this going down so well at an open mike evening.

Leave a Reply

