For All The Shrouded Souls

For all of the suffering
of all humanity
each individual injustice done
For the lonesome inquiry
the curious empathy
the blind reckoning of one girl
For the helpless soldiers who one by one
marched into oblivious history
because they could not heed to their conscience
could not bear the weight of their heart’s own scales
For the soldiers who fought and died for love’s law
gave up their life force
bringing light to dim halls of the darkened heart
For all of the mothers and fathers
who watched their children struggle
For those who stood by helpless
while death took their beloved
For the ill-struck pilgrims
hopeless flesh, damaged souls
all the tortured beings, tarnished sensibilities
withering dreams, the oppressed and enslaved
Too many unfinished stories
bleeding egos, humbled vision, apathetic lives
For a zillion unheard songs
of the ringing voices
whose bell tongue has been muted
through time and perception
This song, this prayer goes out tonight
To each and every shrouded soul
individual cell clusters
countless human animals
The forgotten players
of experiment earth
who took their turn
and embraced their role
at the cost of it all
When each one’s golden moment has arrived
When the veil has been withdrawn, curtains parted
When they’re standing amongst the council
of the clouds and the stars
mingling with the keepers of all creation
May their deepest soul transcript be heard then
and their transgressors forgiven
For when we hurt another, though ignorantly
through revenge, spite, envy or greed
then we hurt ourselves as well
And when we hurt ourselves we damage 
a tiny but crucial part of the Holy Spirit

 

 
 

 

 

About Unsungpoet

Life-long poet, numerologist, author of other previously unpublished works :)
This entry was posted in Photos, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to For All The Shrouded Souls

  1. Ben Naga says:

    “Ignorance is the root of suffering. Hinduism, Taoism and all schools of Buddhism, including Ch’an and Zen, but also many Christian schools of thought, agree on this.”

    http://www.taoism.net/theway/ignorance.htm

  2. “When we hurt another……..we hurt ourselves as well.” So true! Beautiful!

    • Unsungpoet says:

      It’s infinitely true, isn’t it? Something that most of us learn as a time-released lesson, I mean through time and experience, like discovering the atonement in its natural, raw form. Thanks alot for taking the time to read and comment…

  3. Wow. What an epic, deep, immersive work! So many layers of thought and expression here. A hauntingly beautiful piece

  4. This is deep thought, as you have encompassed all souls hurt into one.. We Maun many a soul who seemingly departed this earth prematurely, and those too who lived full long lives, as their lives touched even more still.. We can all be shrouded in the sadness of their departing, when in fact we should rejoice in their gift of life.. and in our knowing of them.. Being grateful for their gifts. Being thankful of what they brought to this life on earth.
    We are all too busy caught up within the past of memory, or the worry of tomorrow.. so that when we lose our closest and dearest we grieve for the times spent and the times we will never again spend with them again..
    We have forgotten in the main to live our lives to the fullest, in the NOW moment, for if we lived our lives in the NOW and told each other how much we care.. our sorrows would be less.. for we would have known that each Moment we gave our best, our love and our joy.. And nothing could shroud our memory of all the souls our lives touched if we lived in love and from our hearts… Something we need to start and achieve once again if we are to make this world a better brighter place to be..
    Unsung~ this was a wonderful Poem.. which touched my own soul, deeply… love to you my dear friend.. ~Sue

    • Unsungpoet says:

      Thanks so much for your deep and thoughtful reply. I agree whole-heartedly, especially with the part about living in the now and making sure we let our loved ones (and all of those in our lives) know how much they mean to us every moment. I have always made a point of living my life like this, yet I still feel sadness for my departed and miss them awfully. Since most of my poems (as do all things) hold muti-dimensional meaning, I like and can relate to your description of the shroud. Shrouded in sadness, as well as all the other excess elements that weigh us down, is a beautiful descriptor and so true here…One of the things I had in mind when speaking of shrouded souls is the soul essence of who we really are shrouded in flesh and blood cells…But your angle on it is just as fitting…

  5. Jan Cronkhite says:

    Judy-singing poet. That is how I see you. anyway, Please send me a note of recognition. I don’t seem to be able to connect with you anywhere I try. I am just your old Aunty Jan and I am not sure how to find YOU. LOVE, Aunty Jan wbooks@gotvc.net

    • Unsungpoet says:

      Dear Auntie Jan! I’ve been answering all of your emails and notes! Don’t know why you are not receiving them, but you know you’ve always been a hugely important part of my life, and you know where I am and how to find me…Just now received your current email, and thank you so much for your concern and kind words for my blog…Hope you enjoy what you read…Love Always, J.

      • Jan Cronkhite says:

        Hi, I figured it out. My address of wbooks was my address at our little library when I worked there. My home address is jbc@gotvc.net. I think we are square now, as I did get an email from you. I may have sent you this old address by a relapse or a recall of the oldie. I do love you site. Love AJ (AuntieJan)

  6. Unsungpoet says:

    THANK YOU, I love to hear from you and I’m so glad you found my site!

  7. Lindy Lee says:

    Your poem, “For All the Shrouded Souls”, speaks lovingly for humanity lost, young, old, unjustly, untimely…

  8. Lindy Lee says:

    Thank you for being here on WordPress. Your poetry is great & even greater to re-read and contemplate…

Leave a Reply

