When I Look To The Sky (or) The Long Ride Home

 
When I look up to the sky
to the silent stars
and their familiar mystery
thinking of how long it took us to arrive
and all we left behind
I wonder why we ever came
All the hardships and the pain
all the loving beauty lost
the comfort, the friendship, the loss
Countless shining intentions
all suffocated by contagion greed
and sad misunderstanding
I think of the dreamtime encounters
the late night stories
Long boulevards to your door
The cherished circle
all treasured and sacred
that we lost or forfeited somewhere along the way
Perhaps it was already written in the heavens
These celestial alphabets spelling out
our worst heartaches and fears
our ecstasy and terror
The dramas that won’t let me go
and that rips through our souls
Maybe we brought them with us afterall
in order to mend these deep tears
Intending to work it all out here
Having filled our pockets with faint reminders
for the long ride home
Sometimes this thought
is the only thing that keeps me going

 

About Unsungpoet

Life-long poet, numerologist, author of other previously unpublished works :)
This entry was posted in Photos, Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to When I Look To The Sky (or) The Long Ride Home

  1. Captivating words here Unsungpoet.. heart-felt upon the journey of life… We have travelled far from our homeland.. and we still have a long way to travel. But so long as we keep those Good intentions and know within that We shall return.. and this is but a stepping stone amid the Galaxies I look towards the Stars and know… without a doubt that our journey is coming to an end and I Wish upon a Star whenever I look to the Sky..
    ~Dreamwalker

    • unsungpoet says:

      Thank you Dreamwalker…Your words always ring true…”and this is but a stepping stone amid the Galaxies…” Awesome! Helps to put things back into perspective for me…

  2. The lines beside the road are so unclear
    How on earth did we get here
    From such distant galaxies
    Is there a place for you and me?

    A grand tale indeed of mystery, hesitancy, exhaustion, love, and disappointment. Beautifully done!

  3. tshauambea says:

    Beautiful Poem! I love it! Your writing style is very unique. The first picture is so beautiful it almost made me cry, I’m being very honest! There’s just something about sunsets and sunrises that makes me emotional.

    • unsungpoet says:

      Thank you so much for your kind words: telling me that my writing is unique is the highest compliment I could ever receive for my poetry! That first photo honestly amazed me too when I first saw it…I took it so long ago, I hardly remember where it was; I think on a reservoir in the Bay Area, near my old hometown…It was taken on a cheap little throw-away camera! I guess it was a timing thing…the light hitting just right.

  4. geezergirl1 says:

    Hi.. I like this this tale. It hurts a bit in my heart to read it, not a bad thing. It is a wonder why we choose this Earth journey. Perhaps it is written somewhere, long ago, always known for us to figure out or not. I am of the heart and mind that it’s all perfect as it is, even when it feels like poo and destructive, that I will find goodness in my heart and other.
    There is some infinite Love that holds us sacred, cradles us through life times on the altar of living in physical form. I’m doing my best to ‘be here now’. It’s the best I have.
    peace to you dear Judith.. keep writing my friend, it is a Path Way. xo j

Leave a Reply

