JLK

This is from one of my nine chapbooks of poetry, titled “More Ghost Poems” and self-published in 2003:

I always cry at funerals
I always die at funerals

When I read about the way he had trouble sleeping
the night before he started to die
and went outside to lay on a cot
and gaze up at the floating stars
My romanticizing, analytic mindset
pictured a mystical dome towering high into the Gulf night
where, in his subconscious mind, he knew he would soon be passing
hazy portal, everafter of so many hearts

And then my sensory self kicked in
the animal, feeling me, who could put myself right there
and I knew that wasn’t the way it really happened
Everything was actually low
the stars, not that far away
and the thick, tropical night pressed in
pressed down so heavy, down, down and away
caving in and falling
like the world which was so soon to plunder

And when I heard, oh my Lord, about the way he died
the life-blood pouring out everywhere and the pain
and how, unconscious, he hung on for so many long hours
strangely alone in an unfriendly hospital room
when he finally surrendered
I thought of Sammy
I thought of Neal
Truest love, forbidden friends, already departed
and right there with him
right there, grinning and spinning, the welcoming committee
open for comment and speculation
carefully deliberating the situation
explaining the ritual, discussing the plan
demonstrating the ancient dying dance
Answering inquiries, exorcising fear
All this spectral passion, all right there
in that magical gallery above his deathbed
where those beloved accompanied him
into the sunrise of night

 

 

About Unsungpoet

Life-long poet, numerologist, author of other previously unpublished works.
This entry was posted in Other Stuff, Poetry, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to JLK

  1. 9 chapbooks! wow, I love your work x

    • Unsungpoet says:

      Thank you kindly…There were 1600 copies in all and I gave just about every last one away, scattered across this country and abroad! I admire your work also; you have a very rich style…I found you through Gina @ “Professions for Peace”, who reblogged your elephant poem (which I adored!) Looking forward to going back for more…

      • you are such a dedicated artist! but isn’t it wonderful too know that your words are all over the place in nooks and crannys on dusty bookshelves and shining coffee tables and by bedsides and in the loo! awesome

  2. I am interested in numerology too!

    • Unsungpoet says:

      That’s great…I would love to read some of your interpretations of the numbers, I’m always finding out more and more about them as the years spin, like time-released knowledge…

  3. Unsungpoet says:

    Silver Poet, yes I do love that thought!…having possibly reached into so many worlds I don’t even know of through my poetry, the old-fashioned way…Sometimes little keynotes surface illustrating this and it always blows me away…

  4. Phil Canon says:

    I like this. You write well. I love the pic.

    • Unsungpoet says:

      Thanks, I appreciate that! The pic is one of the rare few photos here that are not from my own personal collection…it was off of a post card that I found at City Lights books.

  5. willowdot21 says:

    such a lovely and deeply feeling poem.

  6. whispersthroughtime says:

    you have captured this beautifully and with much emotion….i can definitely relate to this….i enjoy your writings!

    • Unsungpoet says:

      Thanks so much…I’m glad it “speaks” to you, I could really relate to the whole situation as I was writing it, amazing how sometimes things that occurred so far back in time (sometimes before we are even born) that affect us so intensely as though it were happening for the first time ever and we were right there!

    • Unsungpoet says:

      Thanks so much…I’m glad it “speaks” to you, I could really relate to the whole situation as I was writing it, amazing how sometimes things that occurred so far back in time (sometimes before we are even born) that affect us so intensely as though it were happening for the first time ever and we were right there!

Leave a Reply

