This One Thing

Throughout the ever-changing condition of humanity
Through expansion or deterioration of consciousness
Through social deviance and disintegration of ethics
Despite language barriers and generational blockades
With the rise and fall of empires and time’s ruthless change
One thing is certain
One thing stays the same:
Fathers watch patiently and smile
While daughters ride old coin ponies

About Unsungpoet

Life-long poet, numerologist, author of other previously unpublished works.
This entry was posted in Other Stuff, Photos, Poetry and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to This One Thing

  1. Ben Naga says:

    Them feelings, glued so fast to them old memories.

  2. Beverly says:

    I love seeing these pictures–the faithful dad watching his daring daughter on her old coin pony–that needed a little push! Love it!

    bjk

  3. Yamyah says:

    so sweet, Judith…cherished lovely memories. Your father loves you very much and is always with you for time and space are an illusion within this dimension.
    a BIG hug to you ~ ~

    • Unsungpoet says:

      Thanks very much for the thoughtful comment and good energy…I was thinking of you and your dad also when I put this up. The poem I actually originally wrote about 5 years ago when I lived in San Francisco. I was walking in one of my old neighborhoods, the Mission District, and while all this debauchery was going on up and down the street there was this one young dad watching his little girl riding an old coin pony, the kind that would have been from my growing up days. He looked so proud and she so joyful, the whole rest of the world just seemed to disappear around them. My dad was fresh on my mind at the time because he had recently passed. So when I copied the poem here the photos just seemed to go with it perfectly for multi-dimensional meaning!

  4. what a good feeling reading and seeing your photos!
    Thank you for sharing!

    Take care….
    )0(
    ladybluerose

  5. tshauambea says:

    Lovely.

    I love how this is short yet carries so much depth.
    I love the fact you included your cherished memories in the form of pictures

  6. geezergirl1 says:

    charming… and I really like those photos..
    hey… don’t forget that it’s nation poetry writers month… Write a poem everyday.. you can..
    join me. jeanne

  7. Love to get out the old photo albums, and flick through them.. I often bring them out and they often bring a tear.. But so happy we get snapshots of moments in time… without them often those memories would fade away….
    Our loved ones though Unsung, never fade.. we are tied with the cord of love that knows no bounds and like I said before.. We are but a thought away!..
    Thanks for sharing a most prescious memory… Love to you…. ~Sue x

  8. Unsungpoet says:

    Those frozen moments in time sure do get the floodgates going, don’t they? Much gratitude for the positive energy and lovely reminder, Sue…I do need to be reminded of this now and again because I tend to sometimes let the feelings of missing someone get in the way of feeling them near…

  9. Oh the memories! I had a horse just like that…and often rode on my dad’s motorbike as a kid too :)
    anne

  10. Unsungpoet says:

    I love that these precious memories ring true to you as well…so many of us share similar nostalgic thoughts, feelings and dreams, and I love it when they intertwine!

  11. Lindy Lee says:

    Your metaphor on this one pretty well covers it for mothers, too…

Leave a Reply

